Log in

Impact100 Sonoma’s grants work is an essential component of contributing to a thriving Sonoma Valley.  Serving as a Grant Review Committee (GRC) member draws you into engagement with our nonprofit community.  You will review the nonprofit applications, explore them in depth through site visits, and determine which you believe can have the most significant impact and also have the greatest opportunity to successfully utilize the funds.  

If this sounds like meaningful work, and you want to become involved, read on for more detail about Grant Review Committee participation and what to expect.

What do Impact100 Sonoma Grant Review Committees do?

Grant Review Committees are established annually for the winter/spring grant review season. Committee members read and review grant applications and participate in a thorough vetting process that leads to recommending finalists to be voted on by the entire membership.

What will the 2023 Impact100 grant review process look like?

Click here for information on our 2023 Impetus Grants. Click here for information on our 2023 Impetus Grants Applications Process. (Note: These will be updated in October 2022.)

Is there a calendar for the grant review committees? How much time does it take?

Our grant review season will take place on a timeline from January – April 2023. We anticipate that meetings will be held in-person, though some site visits may be held via Zoom. Committee members will be expected to devote approximately 20-25 hours of their time to the process. Key dates for 2023 are in the Grant Review Committee Calendar on the right-hand side of this page.

What qualifications do I need?

The basic qualifications to join a Grant Review Committee include:

  • Register by December 1, 2022 to ensure your spot on a committee. Only members who have paid their 2023 member contribution will ultimately be confirmed to serve. Click here to make your 2023 membership contribution.
  • Have basic computer skills, home internet access, and Zoom app familiarity.
  • Be able to devote the time necessary to fulfill the most important committee obligations during February and March (approximately 20-25 hours).
  • Be prepared to attend at least 3 site visits between February 21 to March 23, 2023 at various locations around Sonoma Valley, allowing approximately 2 - 3 hours for each site visit.
  • Volunteer to lead and/or take notes for at least one site visit.
  • Ability to actively and objectively participate in discussions and listen to the thoughts and suggestions of others.
  • Find enjoyment working in a group setting with other equally motivated women.
How can I register?

Register at our online link here. REGISTRATION WILL BE OPEN ON SEPTEMBER 24.

What are the next steps?

  • When you’ve completed your registration, you will receive an email acknowledging its receipt. Your place on a committee will be confirmed once your member contribution for 2023 is received.
  • In December, you’ll receive an email asking you to confirm your meeting date availability and containing more information about our in-person training session scheduled for January.
  • Towards the end of January, you will find out to which committee you’ve been assigned.

Serve on the Financial Review Committee

What does Impact100 Sonoma’s Financial Review Committee do?

The Financial Review Committee (FRC) is tasked with reviewing the financial documents submitted by the various non-for-profit organizations applying for grants each year. Review generally takes place in the second half of January, in a short, concentrated period. If you have experience in evaluating and analyzing financial statements and budgets, you may want to serve on the Financial Review Committee.

Click here to send an email to our administrative assistant with your name and contact information and noting your interest in the FRC. Once you have been approved to serve on the FRC, please register at the same online link (above) as GRC members.

For further questions regarding serving on or registering for a 2023 Grant Review Committee, please contact:

GRC REGISTRAR:

GRANT REVIEW COMMITTEE CALENDAR

 KEY GRANT REVIEW EVENTSDATE 

 GRC registration due
 for confirmed place on committee

 12/01/22
 2023 Membership payment due 01/12/23 
 Impetus Grant Application due (by 8PM)  01/13/23 
 Impact100 Sonoma Annual Meeting
 announcement of available grant funds
 01/21/23 
 Mandatory Training Session for GRC & FRC members
 please plan to attend one training session
 01/26/23  PM or  1/28/23  AM 

 GRC Meetings #1 window


 02/14  through  02/18

 Site Visit window

 02/20  through  03/23 

 GRC Meetings #2 window 03/28  through  04/01 
 Meet the Finalists (10AM-12Noon) 04/15/23 
 Members vote online 04/15  through  04/25
 Grant Awards Celebration (2PM-4PM) 04/29/23 
 GRC and FRC Party on the Plaza

 TBD in  June 

All dates and times subject to change.          Locations TBA.

Grant Review Committee Resources


If you are new to Impact100 grant review, or simply want a refresher on the process, please watch these two brief explanatory videos prior to the first in-person training:

Grant Review Committee Training Modules

  1. Our Grantmaking
  2. Committee Process & Details

If you would like to know more about core mission funding and its importance to our Sonoma Valley nonprofits, please watch this informative presentation by Impact100 member and Catalyst Fund Grants Chair, Diana Sanson:

Grant Review Committee Resource Documents (Members Only)

  1. GRC Responsibilities and Calendar

  2. Impact100 Sonoma’s Values and DEI Commitment

  3. Grants History Narrative

  4. Cumulative Grant Recipient Spreadsheet

  5. Nonprofit Abbreviation list

If you have question about training and the Grant Review process, in addition to our Impetus Grant Chairs, you may contact:

GRC RESOURCE CHAIR:

OUR VISION

A Just & Thriving Sonoma Valley

OUR MISSION

Empowering women of Sonoma Valley to invest in a more sustainable nonprofit community through collective giving and responsible stewardship.

Impact100 Sonoma is a member of Philanos

Impact100 Sonoma ©2022. All rights reserved


Impact100 Sonoma
P.O. Box 1958
Sonoma, CA 95476
(707) 939-5007
info@impact100sonoma.org


Stay Connected:

Subscribe to our Newsletter


DONATE


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software